haswow.blogg.se

Macrium reflect free 6 restore image to smaller drive
Macrium reflect free 6 restore image to smaller drive













macrium reflect free 6 restore image to smaller drive

Make sure there is a check mark beside this source disk and no other. The Macrium Reflect dialog for creating an image of your disk. Normally the boot disk - the one we want to change - will be the first of these, GPT 1.

macrium reflect free 6 restore image to smaller drive

Open Macrium Reflect and make sure the Backup tab is selected in the top right of the screen.Ĭhoose Image selected disks on this computer under Backup TasksĪ dialog will open showing a list of all the physical hard disks available to the software at the time. It will also help me to create a bootable USB stick later on. I'm using Macrium Reflect to make the disk image. Make sure it has plenty of space on it too. I need to make an image of my current M.2, my boot disk, so I'm using an external hard drive for this. It comes with a 5 year warranty and I really don't need anything any bigger, even with a large Lightroom cache (see below). I opted for this 500GB NVMe M.2 from Samsung for my new disk. Software which will clone/image your source disk and create a bootable USB drive.New M.2 drive (target) - here are some good ones from Amazon if you haven't got one yet.A USB stick with at least 4GB of free space on it.Time to retire this drive to my Son's gaming machine and upgrade to a bigger M.2. Adobe recommend at least 20%, and mine is down to 10%. One of the major factors in the performance of Lightroom is the amount of free disk space on the catalog/previews drive, which should always be your quickest disk. My Dell XPS came with a 256GB NVMe M.2 disk which has served me well up to now, but hasn't got much space left on it. The only problem with this superfast technology - particularly the small on-motherboard M.2 drives - is that it is relatively expensive compared to larger format SSD technology and you don't get much disk space as standard. Many computer systems nowadays come with SSD (Solid State Disk) drives for the operating system to ensure quick start up times and fast read/write times for the operating system and applications.















Macrium reflect free 6 restore image to smaller drive